Thursday, 29 March 2018

How you can set up Android Auto in any car

Android Auto for sure, will work in any car, even an older car. All you need is the right accessories—and a smartphone running Android 5.0 (Lollipop) or higher (Android 6.0 is better), with a decent-sized screen. Add a few handy apps and phone settings, and you can make your smartphone version of Android Auto just about as good as the dashboard version.

Android Auto wasn’t always this easy. When it debuted in 2015, you needed either a new car or pricey aftermarket hardware to run Google’s infotainment system of the future. Google brought a standalone Android Auto app to smartphones the following year, allowing anyone with an Android phone to use the simplified menu system for music, navigation, phone calls, and messages. More recently, Android Auto added support for Google Assistant and all the same voice commands you’d use with a Google Home speaker.
Without going too further here's how to:

Step 1: Get a car phone mount: Using Android Auto on your phone is very good only if you can glance at the screen without losing sight of the road. Car mounts for this purpose cost around $20, and can attach to your phone’s dashboard, windshield, CD player, or air vent.

Step 2: Add Bluetooth to your car: Unless your phone needs charging, you should not have to mess around with cables every time you get in the car. Connecting your car to Bluetooth removes the extra bit of friction that might stop you from listening to music or asking for directions.

Now, if your car already has Bluetooth built-in, you’re in great shape. Just pair your phone through the car’s infotainment system, and proceed to the next step. Otherwise, you’ll need some extra hardware to add Bluetooth to your car.
Step 3: Automate Android Auto:Once you’ve got a Bluetooth solution and paired it to your smartphone, install the Android Auto app from the Google Play Store. But you should not stop here! The real magic happens when you create a rule to launch Android Auto when it connects to the car via Bluetooth.

Launch the Android Auto app, then press the menu button in the top-left corner and select Settings. Scroll down and select Autolaunch, then flip on the toggles for Autolaunch and your car’s Bluetooth connection. You may also turn on pocket detection so the app doesn’t launch prematurely.

To make your phone feel a bit more like an actual infotainment system, you can run Android Auto in landscape mode.
Step 4: Get comfy with Android Auto: Android Auto is most essentially a special version of the Android interface, with larger buttons, simplified menu items, and fewer distractions. The headphone icon provides quick access to compatible music apps such as Pandora and Spotify, the navigation icon provides directions from Google Maps (or Waze, if you’ve installed it), and the phone button allows you to place calls.

In many cases, though, it’s easier to use voice commands. Hit the microphone icon or say “Hey Google,” then ask for music, directions, a phone call, or a text message. This works with all Google Assistant actions, so you can even dictate to-do list items, add calendar appointments, and turn down the thermostat at home.

How You can Be Featured on a Podcast in Your Industry

At this present age, the podcast industry is a booming one. A decade ago, podcasts were a niche addition to your audio library on your mobile device. However, the number of people who regularly listen to podcasts has increased dramatically, especially in the past five years.

According to Edison Research, an estimated 36 percent (98 million) of Americans more than 12 years of age said they have listened to a podcast before in 2016. Additionally, the same report added that an estimated 21 percent (57 million) of Americans over 12 listen to podcasts on at least a monthly basis.
So on this ground, listeners can choose from a wide variety of podcasts, many of which are oriented around business, social media and marketing. These shows often invite and feature guests on episodes to discuss a particular topic. This press opportunity is a great way to expand your brand awareness and reach potential new customers. So how do you become featured as a podcast guest? With this on ground, here's what two podcast hosts said about how they select guests for their shows.

1. Have a story to tell: Whether the podcast is conversation-driven or not, there is all the time some type of story arc. For business-oriented podcasts in particular, it's important to think about what entrepreneurs from all walks of life can learn from you.
Estelle Erasmus, host and curator of the American Society of Journalists and Authors podcast, AJSA Direct: Inside Intel on Getting Published and Paid Well, says it all begins with a compelling story that's specific to a niche audience.
"Have a fascinating publishing-related story that has made you a top name in publishing," she said on how she chooses guests for her podcast. "If an article you wrote went viral and an agent from a well-known firm contacted you and signed you, or if Steven Spielberg wants your movie rights – it just happened to writer Judy Batalion – then I'm interested in talking to you."

2. Do your research: It's very common for hosts to receive pitches from people wanting to be featured on an episode of their podcast. However, many of these pitches to Joblogues – a conversational podcast about careers, money and life – aren't particularly relevant to the show.
"Honestly, the majority of pitches that we receive, we don't consider for the show,” said Joymarie Parker, co-host of Joblogues. "It's evident that most people don't take the time to think through the mission of our platform – which is around empowering and inspiring the next generation of working professionals – but not just the mission, but the tone of how we deliver it."
For example, it's easy to know when someone pitching to the show hasn't actually listened to an episode. Don't fall into that trap: Research the podcast by reading its website entirely as well as listening to a few episodes.
"How can you ask a guest, 'Add to that dialogue, that narrative, and how can you empower our community?'" said Parker.

3. Cater your pitch to the show's format: When you are doing your background research, pay attention to how the podcast episodes are structured. After all, the hosts and editors of the show have worked to develop that structure.
"We take pride in a fun format," said Parker.
In addition to guest interviews, Joblogues features updates on what's going on in the professional realm as well as the rest of the world, product reviews, and advice segments.

"If you're not forming our pitch around our format, our tone, or linking it back in a very tangible way to a theme that will empower the listener, it makes it difficult for me to see that guest on the show," Parker added.

4. Reach out to your network: Here.... you need to inquire about any podcast connections in your professional network. Podcast hosts are always open to recommendations on who to feature, if a colleague can verify they are a good candidate for an interview.

"I find editors, authors, agents, and screenwriters through my personal network and through recommendations from trusted colleagues," said Erasmus.

Since she has worked in the publishing industry for the past 20 years, Erasmus' network is wide, but she is still constantly looking for fresh talent. "ASJA members are the top of their field in publishing and go through rigorous review before they are approved, so the organization has high standards, which are expressed in the podcast guests I select," she added.

Podcasts are an excellent way to promote your brand in an organic way. However, finding a podcast you'd be a good fit for takes time and patience. To make a genuine connection with a podcast, you need not only a compelling narrative, but to spend time researching the right fit and crafting a unique pitch. Of course, reaching out to your professional network doesn't hurt either.

"Podcasting is a wonderful way to continue to establish a brand and bring a voice to the mission of an organization," Erasmus said. Thanks......

You can now stream your music from Google Home to a Bluetooth speaker. Here's how

One thing you are to note before going further is, "Google Home and Google Home Mini might be good at finding songs you want to hear, but they’re not the best at playing them". Compared to higher-priced speakers such as Google Home Max and Apple’s HomePod, Google’s diminutive devices sound exactly as you’d expect: small, tinny, and muddled.
Google has heard your complaints. Starting today, you can hook up a Bluetooth speaker to your Google Home without needing to purchase a separate Chromecast dongle. Once you pair a compatible Bluetooth speaker with one of your Homes, you can make it the default for playing music, so you won’t have to fiddle with controls or tell your Home where to send your favorite songs.


Pairing a speaker is simple. Here's how to do it:
Make sure your Bluetooth speaker is in pairing mode.
Head to the Devices tab inside the Home app on your phone.
Tap Settings in the overflow menu.
Scroll down to Paired Bluetooth devices and tap Enable Pairing Mode.
Tap the name of the speaker you want to pair your Google Home with.

Once the link is established, you can then go back a screen to set it as a default for whenever music is played by selecting Default music speaker.
You can also set up multi-room audio with a pair of Bluetooth speakers, just like you can do with two or more Google Homes. After you follow the steps above for pairing multiple speakers, you’ll need to create a group, which you’ll find in the same overflow menu on the Devices page. Name the group, choose the speakers that you want to be synced, and the next time you ask Google Home to play a song, your music will be beamed to Bluetooth speakers in two different rooms.

The impact on your Homes: This is somehow sure the most overdue feature on Google Home—Amazon Echo users have been able to stream audio to a Bluetooth speaker for over a year—so we're glad Google finally got around to it. Our home speakers have moved well beyond a way to get simple answers to basic questions, and with the rise of streaming services, they’ve quickly become the most convenient way to play music in our homes. But if you don’t want to spend $300-$400 on a high-fidelity speaker like HomePod or Google Home Max, this is a great way to give your sound a boost.
This story, was originally published by TechHive.

Five Ways to Know If You Have a Great Business Idea

If it happens that you are itching to launch your own business, you need more than an idea. You need an idea that works. It helps to be passionate about both your concept and entrepreneurship in general, but it's critical to be realistic and well informed going into the process. An idea with self-evident appeal on its surface may not hold up to scrutiny, or might at least require some major adjustments. You need to do your homework to determine whether and how you translate your idea into a viable business.So on this note, we reached out to entrepreneurs and other experts to find out what you should consider when you want to make your business idea a reality. These five questions will help you to flesh out your concept and figure out how to move forward – or not.
Does it solve a problem? Entrepreneur and co-founder of the web design school The Starter League (which has been acquired by Fullstack Academy), Mike McGee thinks the best business ideas are those that solve a problem in some way.

If there is a problem that affects you, your friends, family, co-workers, etc., then the chances are high that it affects people you don't know as well," McGee said on this note.
Will people will pay for it? It's paying customers who validate an idea and determine which ones have the greatest chance for success, Wil Schroter said, the co-founder and CEO of Fundable.
"An idea is just an idea until you have a paying customer attached to it," Schroter said. "Anyone can discredit a simple idea, but no one can discredit paying customers."
What's your price point? Charlie Harary, founder and partner of investment firm H3 & Co. said that while there are many ways to solve problems, great business ideas do it in a way that is less expensive than what the market will endure.
"Once you have determined that you are solving a legitimate problem in a scalable way, you also need to determine not only the value that it delivers to the world but what people would pay for that value," Harary said.
"Once you determine the price, then you can assess if your solution is businessworthy or not."

Is there a sizable niche market for it? If there is no large enough market, your idea may never get off the ground. You need to determine if a niche market actually exists for your idea. You're better poised for success if your business improves upon what's already out there – a novel response to a recognized need.
How can you tell if a niche market is, in fact, a market? It's a mix of "research, gut instinct and personal preference," according to Ari S. Goldberg, founder of investment firm RNMKR. "I consider overall industry trends, the amount of investment activity that's taken place in the space recently, how much I've read about it from the consumer side, and whether I've heard people talking about it," Goldberg said.

Are you passionate enough about it? Here your business will likely take up all of your time, so make sure you're passionate about it to make it successful. It's important that your idea is something you truly care about, not just something you've targeted because it seems like it could be lucrative.
"Since starting a business requires an inordinate amount of time, energy and patience, ideally, the idea will be one that you are passionate about as well as one that you have skills or experience [in]," said Melissa Bradley, managing director of Project 500 and an adjunct faculty member of Georgetown Univesity's McDonogh School of Business.

Tuesday, 20 March 2018

The state of Android security: Great on Oreo, but some phones are missing out

As the case is now, Google has released its annual report on Android security and the message is clear: The devices running the latest version of Android are among the safest you can buy. Through a combination of features such as Google Play Protect and Instant Apps, the bug bounty program, and machine learning, Google says Android 8 “has achieved a strength of protection that now leads the industry.”
That’s great news if you’re using a Pixel or have a Galaxy S9 on the way. But if you have one of the millions of phones that will never receive an Oreo update, the biggest issue with Android security is one that’s plagued the platform for a while: fragmentation. At last count, just 1 percent of Android users were running Oreo on their phones, compared to nearly 28 percent each on Nougat and Marshmallow. That means nearly 99 percent of Android phones aren’t as secure as they could be. But Google’s trying to change that narrative.

The impact on you at home: With each new Android release, Google does more and more to make out phones secure. So on this note, if you’re one of the 1 percent using an Oreo phone, congratulations. Not only do you have the most recent features, you also have the safest Android phone you can buy. But Google is hopeful that it’s turned a corner. With Project Treble and the Pixel, phones running the latest version of Android should increase exponentially with Android P, so this time next year there could be more than 10 percent of Android phones that are up-to-date. And there’s also Android Go and Android One, both of which offer a “pure” version of Android with the promise of years of updates. So things are

Protection at the source:One area where all Android phones benefit from tight security is the Google Play Store. As at last year, Google updated its digital storefront with a new security feature called Google Play Protect. A background process turned on by default, the security suite automatically runs a safety check on apps before they are downloaded from the Play Store and warns users about any potentially harmful ones that could out your phone at risk.

According to Google, the probability of a user downloading a malicious app from the Play Store was sliced in half last year, from .04 percent to .02 percent. While the number was already extremely low, Google says that the odds of downloading a harmful app from Google Play in 2017 was “less likely than the odds of an asteroid hitting the earth.” Additionally, the proliferation of Instant Apps—which can be used without downloading anything—keeps limits the likelihood of installing harmful code on your device. While Google Play Protect and Instant Apps are available for phones going back to Lollipop, most of the other security enhancements Google delivered last year were mostly limited to Oreo. Among the features in the latest version of Android are stronger encryption and key storage, tighter sandboxing, kernel self-protection, and an updated version of Android Verified Boot.

But the biggest change in Android 8.0 security is to the the handling of apps from sources other than the Play Store. Where users previously could easily access an Unverified Sources toggle to allow installations of non-Play Store-approved apps, in Oreo it’s a behind-the-scenes permission that automatically runs whenever an app is side-loaded. This stands that users can’t unwittingly turn it off, but it also means that a malicious app can’t do it either.

Google also paid out more than $1.25 million as part of its bug bounty program, but very few of them critical Oreo vulnerabilities. In fact, Google reports, at the 2017 Mobile Pwn2Own competition, none of the exploits were able to successfully compromise Google Pixel devices. That event was held in October, however, after the phones received their Oreo update.


All about that Treble: As a whole, things might be looking up. While Android updates generally follow the same slow adoption rate, Google’s new Project Treble could ramp up the number of phones running Android P. The Oreo feature makes it easier for manufacturers to deliver updates to phones, so the phones running Android 8 should receive version 9 much quicker. That stands that everyone will be a whole lot safer. Project Treble is a complete change to how update are delivered. Starting from the source, Project Treble gives manufacturers a clear way to update from Oreo to whatever Android P will be called, boiling down a multi-step process to just a single one. It also smooths over the various hardware tweaks, so Samsung will be able to push out updates to numerous phones, not just the Galaxy S9. Granted, phones will need to be running Oreo in order to take advantage of the new system, but it's a good start. And in addition that means next year's state of Android report could be a whole lot rosier.

This story, was originally published by PCWorld.

Sunday, 11 March 2018

The four Ways to Improve Communication With Your Customers

During the last year, trust in U.S.-based companies dropped five points, down to 50 percent, according to the Edelman Trust Barometer. As companies struggle with customer satisfaction and loyalty, change needs to ensue to restore faith in business, which takes both time and perseverance. What might look like a petty social media review could ruin your entire reputation. It's crucial, therefore, to approach every customer and situation with care.

So on this ground we spoke with Peter Muhlmann, founder and CEO of Trustpilot, who offered four ways to improve communication with consumers. So in regard to that, implement these tactics to achieve a better relationship with your customers.

Respond even to unhappy customers:While it might be tempting to ignore rude comments or nasty reviews, doing so only harms your reputation. Don't avoid the problem; approach it with genuine concern and an open mind."Consumers are people and want to be treated as such," said Muhlmann. "Answer their questions and resolve their issues as if you were trying to help out your mom. Be personable and take a genuine interest in their concerns."
According to Lee Resources, if you resolve a complaint in the customer's favor, they will do business with you again 70 percent of the time. It's worth a few minutes of your time to retain consumers.


Reply in a timely manner: In a good number of times, answering comments and concerns isn't enough. Make your best effort to respond within 24 hours, proving to the customer that their concerns are important to you.

The best way to show your customers that you care is by setting up a system that focuses solely on customer service. "If you're taking a proactive approach, you're already halfway there," said Muhlmann. "The key to staying on top of customer reviews is to actively seek them out and have a strategy and process in place ahead of time. Like many crucial business operations, preparation and planning go a long way."


Implement a two-way communications channel:If you desire to make sure there is an online platform where you and your customers can have a dialogue. For example, on Twitter, consumers can tweet concerns and receive a reply in the same thread. Facebook Messenger is another great, personalized way to discuss questions or concerns.

"Social media and third-party online review platforms provide the perfect space for open and consistent two-way communication between companies and their customers," said Muhlmann.

Additionally, it creates valuable data sets that might help you reach consumers in the future, he said. "Keyword tagging and natural language processing tools can help you spot trends and patterns in consumer behavior, all of which can help you improve and grow your business."


Address issues online:If you prefer to encourage open communication on online platforms, you need to approach public concerns and reviews like they are just as important as private emails and phone calls. One bad comment can blow up, spreading word that your business is unprofessional.

"You want to be sure that your brand is responding from a place of empathy as well as showing the brand's ability to admit fault by issuing an apology when appropriate," said Muhlmann. "Nobody is perfect, after all, and that includes businesses – even some of the most successful ones across the globe. If you made a mistake, that's okay. Take responsibility and propose a solution."

Having too much pride and not admitting to faults is a surefire way to turn consumers off. However, acknowledging and solving issues on a public platform shows your audience that you're sincere and you are willing to work with them through any problem.


Thursday, 8 March 2018

Android P is going to have notch support and improve indoor mapping

As the case is now, the first developer preview of Android P has arrived, and with it, Google is ready to show off the next phase of its mobile vision. And notches are all the rage.

As previously rumored, Android P will introduce display cutout support for Android apps, letting developers “take full advantage of the latest device screens with fullscreen content.” And it’s not just the status bar and home screen that will get the support. Google is expanding support for notched displays into all areas of Android P, including APIs so developers can get creative with their apps.

According to Google, “Cutout support works seamlessly for apps, with the system managing status bar height to separate your content from the cutout. If you have critical, immersive content, you can also use new APIs to check the cutout shape and request full-screen layout around it.”

The impact it has on you: Get ready for notches. While the first phone with a notch was technically Andy Rubin’s Essential Phone, Apple mainstreamed the look with its bezel-less iPhone X. After we saw a flurry of notched phones released and rumored during MWC this year, however, it’s clear that it will become a trend in 2018 and beyond. And with Android P, Google wants to ensure users are getting the best possible experience.

Now, with support baked deep into the operating system, phone makers and app developers will actually use the full screen to their advantage, creating content that fits correctly and using the notch to add creative controls and data. So maybe we won't hate them so much.

Moving pictures ahead
Along with notch support, Google is in addition readying Android for the next generation of photos and videos. Version P brings support for HDR VP9 Profile 2, so app developers will be able to deliver HDR-enabled movies from YouTube, Google Play, and other sources on HDR-capable devices. Several premium Android phones are already capable of receiving HDR10 and Dolby Vision content, including the Samsung Galaxy S9, LG V30, and Pixel 2, and Android P will only accelerate the availability of content.

Google is also adding High Efficiency Image Format (HEIF) image format encoding into Android P. Developers will be able to take advantage of the compression and storage benefits of HEIF by offering the popular format as an option in their apps.

Additionally, Android P will embrace dual-camera systems, letting third-party camera apps “access streams simultaneously from two or more physical cameras on devices running Android P.” That means developers will be able to do more with the second lens on dual-camera devices, letting them get creative with portraits, black-and-white, wide-angle shots, and anything else the secondary camera provides.

Notifications, mapping, and more
It wouldn’t be a new version of Android without changes to the notification system, and now, Google has “put a priority on improving visibility and function in notifications” in Android P. Messaging alerts should become more dynamic, highlighting who is sending a message and how to reply, as well as displaying full conversations, and letting you attach photos and stickers, all without opening the app.

Android P will also bring support for the IEEE 802.11mc WiFi protocol (or WiFi Round-Trip-Time) so apps will be able to bring location services indoor where GPS might be spotty. With Android P, apps will be able to calculate the device position with an accuracy of 1 to 2 meters, Google says. So now, that kind of accurate indoor positioning will help apps with indoor mapping and location-based information.

Among the other changes in Android P will be expanded availability of Google’s neural network, improvements to Autofill, and support for the Open Mobile API for secure smart-card payments. There will also be improvements to security, app compatibility, and privacy, as well as the usual speed and power efficiency improvements.

The Developer Preview is available for manual download and flash only, with the over-the-air Android Beta version arriving closer to the final release. As always, Google stresses that this is “an early baseline build for developers only” and there will be more features and capabilities added later in the preview and we’ll have even more to share at Google I/O in May.
This story, was originally published by PCWorld.

Tuesday, 6 March 2018

Google for Business: Your Small Business Guide

As almost everyone knows, Google helps you find just about everything you could possibly need. Hungry? Find the closest restaurant near you. In the mood to shop? Browse the latest sales. Wondering what your boss just meant by the acronym she used? Look up possible meanings.

No matter what you're searching for, this internet giant has your back – even in the business world. If you own a small business, you can utilize Google to attract customers and get ahead of competitors.

From calendars and email to Google+ and maps, Google can help businesses organize themselves efficiently and establish an online presence. Okay while you take note of that, here's how these solutions can help your business, and how you can get started.
Get Your Business Online: Google's Get Your Business Online (GYBO) project is all about helping small businesses create and establish their presence online. On this line, Google has partnered with thousands of cities and local organizations to help businesses build their website, stay on top of Google search results and be seen by customers. Resources include free custom websites, a step-by-step guide to using Google My Business, diagnostic tools to measure your website's performance, training programs and business workshops.

Google My Business:For small businesses, competition lurks around every corner. Google My Business helps you stand out and connect with customers all throughout Google land. To take advantage of this service, set up a Google+ page, which can then be found via Search and Maps.

"Google My Business is a great starting point for a small business, as it's simple to set up and free too," said Ryan Scollon, SEO and PPC Consultant of BowlerHat. "It gives you the chance to show in the local/map results on a google search results page when people are looking for a local service or business. It also allows you to show business opening hours, contact details and even directions to your place of work should people need to visit you."

Google+ page:Setting up a Google+ page constitutes a huge chunk of Google My Business. With a Google+ page, businesses can build a following and keep customers coming back with news updates, event announcements, and special offers and discounts. Business Google+ pages let you keep contacts in the loop by sharing status updates, photos, videos and links.
In addition, with a Google+ page, you can integrate customers and followers into your marketing campaigns — they can use the +1 button to endorse your posts and share your content on their Google+ pages and throughout the web.

Google Search and Maps:A Google+ page will also help your business rank high on Google search results. This makes it easier for customers to find directions, business hours and contact information, whether they are searching on their computers or mobile devices.

Google Posts:Google presently allows you to share content directly on Google. To do so, search your name or your company's name, click to type under the Knowledge Panel and follow the instructions from there. Anyone searching for you or your business will have access to the posts, where you can include pictures, videos, and GIFs and create events. The setup is quick and simple.

Google AdWords:Now here, if you need to reach even more customers, advertise on Google to boost sales and grow your business. Small businesses can take advantage of the search giant's reach with Google AdWords, an easy-to-use, cost-per-click (CPC) advertising platform.

The CPC model means you only pay when people click on your ads. You can set your daily budget for each advertising campaign and adjust these budgets as necessary. For example, if you have a daily budget of $10, you would have a maximum CPC of 50 cents and approximately 20 clicks per day.
Using AdWords, businesses can create advertisements that appear on relevant Google search results — including those on mobile devices — and related websites. For instance, if you own an ice cream shop in Los Angeles, your ad would appear when someone searches for an ice cream shop in the area and on ice cream, dessert or other food-related websites.
You can change your ads at any time and launch them locally, nationally and even globally. AdWords offers robust reporting and analytics tools, so you can monitor ad performance to ensure campaigns meet advertising goals.
But according to Scollon, Google Adwords needs to be approached with caution.
"The problem here is that if it's not set up or maintained correctly, it can very quickly burn your money," he said. "It can allow small businesses to get up and running pretty quickly without having to wait for other marketing to kick in, but make sure you put in plenty of time for research, or hire a professional."

Monday, 5 March 2018

Is Your Site Ready for Google's Upcoming Algorithm Change?

Is your company's mobile site quick to load? If not, don't be surprised if its ranking plummets on Google search results. By July this year, Google's algorithm will change so that slow-loading mobile sites will suffer the consequences. While this has been a call for action for quite some time, Google will now use loading speed as a metric for mobile search result ranking.

"Businesses with slow mobile sites may see a decrease in mobile organic rankings on Google," said Tony Palazzo, vice president of operations and marketing of Logical Position. "Speed has always been a factor of ranking, but previously it was based on your desktop version of your site; now it's going to be looking at your mobile site load speed."

Mobile accounts for more than 52.2 percent of all web traffic worldwide, increasing from last year's 50.3 percent. With its algorithm change, Google is hoping to accommodate this rising trend. Here's everything you need to know to get ready for Google's SEO changes ahead.

What it means for businesses
The algorithm change won't affect every business or mobile site. But in anycase, it's still important to take necessary precautions – especially if your brand is new to the mobile game.

"While Google says slower sites that still have great content may still rank highly, it's a clear push for companies and developers to emphasize performance and the user experience on mobile platforms," said Sean Brady, president of Americas at Emarsys. "Companies must select the right technology and employ the right strategies to deliver both relevant personalized content and mobile performance."
If your small business falls short of Google's standards, you could potentially lose valued customers and page views, lowering your ranking against competition.

What companies can do

The most obvious solution is to make your mobile website more user-friendly. To do so, Google suggests the following steps:

1.Visit Google's guide to mobile-friendly sites. This page offers several ways to make your site more mobile-friendly, such as using software or a third-party developer.
2.Take Google's Mobile-Friendly Test to see how optimized your website is for mobile viewing. You can test a single page on your site or several webpages and see exactly how Googlebot views the pages when determining search results.
3.Use Webmaster Tools to generate a Mobile Usability Report, which helps identify any issues with your website when viewed on a mobile device.

Palazzo in addition offered some tips to get the best results from mobile, advising small businesses to leverage browser caching, minify JavaScript and CSS, compress images to decrease file size, utilize Google’s AMP pages, and make sure all extensions are in place.

Also, Brady stated that the ROI for email marketing is nearly double that of mobile, social media and other digital marketing platforms. If you're concerned that your mobile friendliness won't be up to par come July, develop other marketing channels to boost your ROI.

"Google's focus on mobile directly impacts brands' omnichannel marketing strategies, especially as millennials on average use 4.5 devices when interacting with a brand, forcing developers to continue focusing on the mobile experience," said Brady. "In the competitive e-commerce industry, marketers must continue providing consistent and personalized content across channels and ensure their content on these channels are built to run as fast and efficiently as possible." Thanks.........

Android news from MWC 2018: The 8 interesting and unusual announcements you may have missed

Mobile World Congress 2018 is officially in the books and to the surprise of no one, the Galaxy S9 stole the show. From the AR Emoji to the Super-Slow-mo camera and recycled design, people couldn't stop talking about Samsung's latest flagship phone. And that means a lot of other announcements flew under the radar.
Without going too far, here are some of the coolest ones you may have missed:

Table of Contents

MWC 2018: Pop-up cameras
MWC 2018: Notches
MWC 2018: Android Go, the low-end Oreo
MWC 2018: High-end Android One
MWC 2018: Google Assistant
MWC 2018: DeX Pad
MWC 2018: 400GB SDXC cards
MWC 2018: 5G

MWC 2018: Pop-up cameras
Of all the photography innovations we saw at MWC this year, this one was the strangest: pop-up cameras. First Huawei unveiled a new Matebook X Pro with a camera built into the keyboard rather than the bezel above the screen. The recessed camera hides in a spring-loaded, key-sized compartment between the F6 and F7 function keys (so the paranoid won't have to put tape on their screen). But much more interesting was a wild prototype of a Vivo Apex phone that features a camera that pops out of the top of the frame, eliminating the need for a notch altogether. Who knows if it'll ever see the light of day, but color us intrigued.

MWC 2018: Notches
When talking about cameras, another emerging MWC trend is notches. (Yes, you read that right.) After Android phone makers collectively pointed and laughed at iPhone X and its "horns," it's taken less than six months for the first imitators to arrive. First up there's the Asus ZenPhone 5, which features a "26-percent smaller" notch than the one on iPhone X. And not to be outdone, budget phone make Leagoo released their own "S9" phone that, lo and behold, also features a notch at the top of the screen. And that's not to mention a pair of phones that leaked during the conference: the Huawei P20 and OnePlus 6: Both—you guessed it—also have camera notches.


MWC 2018: Android Go, the low-end Oreo


Google's Android Go project may have been announced way back at Google I/O last May, but MWC was its coming-out party. No fewer than eight handsets running the stripped-down version of Oreo were unveiled, including the $85 Nokia One, with a 4.5-inch display and a removable 2,150mAh battery, and the $79 ZTE Tempo Go, which sports a 5.7-inch 18:9 display. It's something of a reboot of Google's failed Android One program, letting low-end manufacturers release cheap phones that still run a modern, solid version of Android. And that stands budget Android phones will be getting Oreo before most of the flagship ones do. Sigh.


MWC 2018: High-end Android One

With Android Go occupying the bottom tier of Android, phone makers are starting to see the benefits of Android One on their higher-end devices. Currentely limited to a handful of handsets with low-end specs, Android One has evolved into a partner program for stock Android, but it's still mostly limited to mid-tier phones such as the HTC U11 Life and Moto X4. HMD Global wants to change that. At MWC, it announced that all of its Nokia phones will run Android One from here on out, including their high-end flagships such as the Snapdragon 835-powered Nokia 8 Sirocco. And that should make everyone happy.

MWC 2018: Google Assistant

It will never be an Android show without a strong presence from Google Assistant, and Google's AI aide didn't disappoint. Along with announcing support for nearly two dozen more languages in 2018, Google also unveiled new app integrations that will let developers build deep links to their Android apps within the visual Assistant responses, allowing users to tap to quickly get more information. And we also saw the first deep integration with a third-party with Sony's Xperia XZ2, which lets you summon Assistant using, "Hey Google," even when the screen is off.

MWC 2018: DeX Pad

Samsung's DeX dock is barely a year old, but it's grown up a lot with version 2.0, which was unveiled alongside the S9 at MWC 2018. One big change is that the phone lays flat now, which means it can also function as a trackpad and (coming soon) keyboard. That takes away one of the biggest annoyances of DeX: having to pair or plug in a keyboard and mouse along with your monitor. That means the S9 is a true mobile workstation, with the ability to transform into a Chromebook-like desktop machine at a moment's notice.

MWC 2018: 400GB SDXC cards

Android phones have long enjoyed the benefit of expandable storage, but the humble SD card took a big leap at MWC 2018. Along with its 64 gigs of internal storage, the Galaxy S9 and Sony XZ2 both support 400GB of expandable storage, nearly 150GB more than the previous 256GB limit. And right on cue, Western Digital brought a new 400GB SanDisk Extreme card to Barcelona with 160MB/s read speeds and 90MB write speeds. But the best part isn't that it's more than 50 percent faster than the current crop of SD cards, or that it supports the A2 spec so apps will launch quicker. It's that it only costs $300. OK, that's not exactly cheap, but can you really put a price on storing 100 HD movies on a drive you can accidentally swallow?

MWC 2018: 5G
Before anything is said here, if there was a buzzword at MWC that wasn't "notch" or "S9," it was 5G. From carriers to phone makers, everyone wanted to talk about the new, speedier wireless network. T-Mobile announced that it will be the first to deliver actual 5G, with a commitment to launch it in 30 cities this year. Sprint will be pushing 5G live in a handful of cities next year. Verizon and AT&T will be setting up 5G hotspots across the U.S. later this year. And chip-makers like Qualcomm and Huawei are promising to roll out 5G modems for phones beginning in 2019. Translation: It's still going to be a while before we can whip out our phones and stream in 5G, but it's definitely on the horizon.

This story, was originally published by PCWorld.