Tuesday, 6 March 2018

Google for Business: Your Small Business Guide

As almost everyone knows, Google helps you find just about everything you could possibly need. Hungry? Find the closest restaurant near you. In the mood to shop? Browse the latest sales. Wondering what your boss just meant by the acronym she used? Look up possible meanings.

No matter what you're searching for, this internet giant has your back – even in the business world. If you own a small business, you can utilize Google to attract customers and get ahead of competitors.

From calendars and email to Google+ and maps, Google can help businesses organize themselves efficiently and establish an online presence. Okay while you take note of that, here's how these solutions can help your business, and how you can get started.
Get Your Business Online: Google's Get Your Business Online (GYBO) project is all about helping small businesses create and establish their presence online. On this line, Google has partnered with thousands of cities and local organizations to help businesses build their website, stay on top of Google search results and be seen by customers. Resources include free custom websites, a step-by-step guide to using Google My Business, diagnostic tools to measure your website's performance, training programs and business workshops.

Google My Business:For small businesses, competition lurks around every corner. Google My Business helps you stand out and connect with customers all throughout Google land. To take advantage of this service, set up a Google+ page, which can then be found via Search and Maps.

"Google My Business is a great starting point for a small business, as it's simple to set up and free too," said Ryan Scollon, SEO and PPC Consultant of BowlerHat. "It gives you the chance to show in the local/map results on a google search results page when people are looking for a local service or business. It also allows you to show business opening hours, contact details and even directions to your place of work should people need to visit you."

Google+ page:Setting up a Google+ page constitutes a huge chunk of Google My Business. With a Google+ page, businesses can build a following and keep customers coming back with news updates, event announcements, and special offers and discounts. Business Google+ pages let you keep contacts in the loop by sharing status updates, photos, videos and links.
In addition, with a Google+ page, you can integrate customers and followers into your marketing campaigns — they can use the +1 button to endorse your posts and share your content on their Google+ pages and throughout the web.

Google Search and Maps:A Google+ page will also help your business rank high on Google search results. This makes it easier for customers to find directions, business hours and contact information, whether they are searching on their computers or mobile devices.

Google Posts:Google presently allows you to share content directly on Google. To do so, search your name or your company's name, click to type under the Knowledge Panel and follow the instructions from there. Anyone searching for you or your business will have access to the posts, where you can include pictures, videos, and GIFs and create events. The setup is quick and simple.

Google AdWords:Now here, if you need to reach even more customers, advertise on Google to boost sales and grow your business. Small businesses can take advantage of the search giant's reach with Google AdWords, an easy-to-use, cost-per-click (CPC) advertising platform.

The CPC model means you only pay when people click on your ads. You can set your daily budget for each advertising campaign and adjust these budgets as necessary. For example, if you have a daily budget of $10, you would have a maximum CPC of 50 cents and approximately 20 clicks per day.
Using AdWords, businesses can create advertisements that appear on relevant Google search results — including those on mobile devices — and related websites. For instance, if you own an ice cream shop in Los Angeles, your ad would appear when someone searches for an ice cream shop in the area and on ice cream, dessert or other food-related websites.
You can change your ads at any time and launch them locally, nationally and even globally. AdWords offers robust reporting and analytics tools, so you can monitor ad performance to ensure campaigns meet advertising goals.
But according to Scollon, Google Adwords needs to be approached with caution.
"The problem here is that if it's not set up or maintained correctly, it can very quickly burn your money," he said. "It can allow small businesses to get up and running pretty quickly without having to wait for other marketing to kick in, but make sure you put in plenty of time for research, or hire a professional."

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